Accessibility

Referral Disclaimer

border

Who is this On-line referral for:

This On-Line Speech and Language Referral Form is only for families who want to access Speech Services Niagara preschool speech and language services. Only referrals received by a child’s legal guardian will be accepted. Deadline for referral is October 31st of the year the child is eligible to start their first year of Full Day Kindergarten (previously known as Junior Kindergarten).

If your child is attending school please contact your classroom teacher or principal for information on what services may be available to you from your local school board.

Why we have an on-line referral option:

The opportunity for you to provide this information to us on line is being offered as an alternative option for making a referral. You may choose to call our intake line directly at 905-688-1890 ext. 151(St. Catharines and Grimsby) ext. 168 (Niagara Falls, Welland, Port Colborne and Fort Erie and all Francophone referrals) and provide the same information over the phone. All electronic submissions are placed in order of the date and time received.

What we do with the information we collect:

The personal data collected on the on-line Speech Services Niagara Referral Form is used to determine your eligibility for admission, to assist the speech pathologist in preparing for your child’s speech and language assessment and to ensure that we are communicating with a legal guardian. We will also use this information to contact you to arrange for your child’s appointment for a speech and language assessment. Some of the information is also required by the Ministry of Children and Youth Services for any family receiving services and programs from this agency. The information is kept confidential and stored in a secure electronic database. No names or information that could identify you or your child is provided to the Ministry.

  • The Niagara Children’s Centre is the Health Information Custodian. They take steps to protect your personal health information from theft, loss and unauthorized access, copying, modification, use, disclosure and disposal. For more information regarding privacy policies at Niagara Children’s Centre please visit www.niagarachildrenscentre.com
  • They conduct audits and complete investigations to monitor and manage our privacy compliance.
  • They take steps to ensure that everyone who performs services for us protects your privacy and only uses your personal health information for the purposes you have consented to once you come in for your appointment.
  • There is a Guide to Privacy and Consent for Families, please ask your therapist for a copy or to access a copy of the guide: click here.

Is my data secure:

Upon clicking "I agree" below, you are accepting the terms of this agreement and willingly sending us your information to initiate a referral for a speech and language assessment. You will be automatically redirected to a secured web page that enhances the privacy of the data being submitted. However, Niagara Children’s Centre assumes no responsibility and shall not be liable for, any damages to, or malware that may infect or affect, your computer equipment or other property on account of your access to, use of, browsing of, or reliance upon the Site or your downloading of any materials, data, text, images, video, audio or other information from the Site.

What we are collecting:

We collect personal health information about the child and family. The personal health information we collect may include, for example, name, date of birth, address, health and developmental history, records of visits to the Niagara Children’s Centre and the care children & families received during those visits. Occasionally, we collect personal health information about children & families from other sources if we have obtained parent/caregivers consent to do so, or if the law permits. Your personal health information will be contained within an electronic system. We limit collection of information to what is required to provide care to you and your child.

Why we collect it:

  • We use and disclose personal health information to:
  • Treat and care for children & families
  • Plan, administer and manage our internal operations
  • Conduct risk management activities
  • Conduct quality improvement activities, such as sending satisfaction surveys
  • Teach
  • Conduct research
  • Compile statistics
  • Fundraise to improve our healthcare services and programs
  • Get payment for treatment and care
  • Comply with legal and regulatory requirements
  • Fulfill other purposes permitted or required by law

Do I only have one chance to decide to offer my information or who can access it:

Parent/caregivers may limit access, make corrections to their children’s personal health records or withdraw consent for some or all of the above uses and disclosures by contacting us. Information on how to make changes will be provided upon request. Please note that there are legal exceptions. When you come in for your initial appointment, we will discuss the sharing of information with other programs that may be beneficial to you and your child and you will be asked to sign a consent at that time. If at any time while you are filling in our on-line referral form, you need to stop completion of the form prior to submission, please ensure you click "Cancel" in order to clear any information you have provided.

For more information about our privacy protection practices, or to raise a concern you have with our practices, please contact us:

Dorothy Harvey, privacy officer,

Manager of Rehabilitation Services

Niagara Children’s Centre

567 Glenridge Avenue
St Catharines, Ontario L2T 4C2
(905) 688-1890 X 200

privacy@niagarachildrenscentre.com (do not send personal information via email)

You have the right to contact the Information and Privacy Commissioner/Ontario if you think we have violated your rights. The Commissioner can be reached at:

Information and Privacy Commissioner/ Ontario
2 Bloor Street East, Suite 1400 Toronto ON M4W 1A8
Telephone (416) 326-3333 or 1-800-387-3333 Fax (416) 325-9195




border

our primary partners

Tip of the month

Fantastic Fall Fun– Autumn is a fantastic time of year to go outside, explore and talk. Whether y...

Read more »

Literacy & Language Apps and Websites

Developing healthy routines and habits around screen use starts as soon as children are born. Mobile phones, tablets, TV’s, computers and other electronic devices are present for many children right from birth. At Spe...

Accessibilité

Avis de non-responsabilité en ligne

border

À qui s’applique cette demande de consultation en ligne:

Ce formulaire de consultation en ligne de la parole et du langage est seulement pour les familles qui veulent accéder aux services d’orthophonie préscolaires de Speech Services Niagara. Seules les soumissions reçues par le tuteur légal d'un enfant seront acceptées.  La date limite pour effectuer une demande de consultation est le 31 aout de l'année pendant laquelle l'enfant est admissible pour commencer sa première année de la maternelle.

Si votre enfant fréquente l'école, s'il vous plaît contacter son enseignant ou le directeur d’école pour obtenir des informations sur les services qui peuvent vous être offerts par le biais de votre commission scolaire locale.

Pourquoi offrons-nous l’option de demande de consultation en ligne ?

Nous vous offrons l'occasion de nous fournir cette information en ligne à titre d’option alternative pour effectuer une demande de consultation. Vous pouvez aussi appeler notre ligne d'admission directement au 905-688-1890, poste 151 (St. Catharines et Grimsby), ou poste 168 (Niagara Falls, Welland, Port Colborne et Fort Erie, ainsi que toutes les demandes de consultation francophones) et fournir les mêmes renseignements par téléphone. Toutes les soumissions électroniques sont placées dans l'ordre de la date et l'heure de réception.

Ce que nous faisons avec les informations que nous recueillons:

Les données personnelles recueillies sur le formulaire de demande de consultation en ligne de Speech Services Niagara sont utilisées pour déterminer votre admissibilité à l'admission, pour aider l’orthophoniste à se préparer pour l'évaluation orthophonique de votre enfant et pour veiller à ce que nous communiquons avec un tuteur légal. Nous allons également utiliser ces informations pour vous contacter afin d’organiser un rendez-vous pour l’évaluation orthophonique de votre enfant. Certaines des informations sont également requises par le ministère des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse pour toute famille recevant des services et des programmes de cette agence. L'information est gardée confidentielle et stockée dans une base de données électronique sécurisée. Aucun nom ou information qui pourrait identifier vous ou votre enfant n’est fourni au ministère.

  • Le Centre pour enfants de Niagara est le dépositaire de renseignements sur la santé. Ses employés prennent des mesures pour protéger vos renseignements personnels sur la santé contre le vol, la perte et l'accès non autorisé, la copie, la modification, l'utilisation, la divulgation et l'élimination. Pour plus d'informations concernant les politiques de confidentialité au Centre pour enfants de Niagara, visitez www.niagarachildrenscentre.com
  • Ils effectuent des vérifications et des enquêtes complètes pour surveiller et gérer notre respect de la vie privée.
    Ils prennent des mesures pour veiller à ce que tous ceux qui fournissent des services pour nous protègent votre vie privée et utilisent vos renseignements personnels sur la santé seulement aux fins que vous avez consenties une fois que vous vous présentez à un rendez-vous.
  • Il existe un guide de confidentialité et de consentement pour les familles, s'il vous plaît en demander une copie à votre thérapeute, ou si vous désirez obtenir une copie du guide: cliquez ici.

Mes données sont-elles sécurisées?

En cliquant sur «J'accepte» ci-dessous, vous acceptez les termes de cet accord et vous nous envoyez volontairement vos informations afin d’entamer une demande de consultation pour une évaluation orthophonique. Vous serez automatiquement redirigé vers une page web sécurisée qui renforce la confidentialité des données soumises. Toutefois, le Centre pour enfants de Niagara n'assume aucune responsabilité et ne peut être tenu responsable pour tout dommage à, ou tout logiciel malveillant qui peut infecter ou affecter votre équipement informatique ou autre propriété en raison de votre accès au, utilisation du, navigation au, ou fiabilité au Site ou en raison du téléchargement de tout matériel, donnée, texte, images, vidéo, audio ou autre information à partir du site.

Ce que nous recueillons:

Nous recueillons des renseignements personnels sur la santé de l'enfant et de la famille. Les informations de santé personnelles que nous recueillons peuvent comprendre, par exemple, le nom, la date de naissance, l’adresse, l'historique de santé et de développement, les dossiers des visites au Centre pour enfants de Niagara et les soins reçus par les enfants et les familles au cours de ces visites. Parfois, nous recueillons des renseignements personnels sur la santé des enfants et des familles provenant d'autres sources, si nous avons obtenu le consentement des parents/soignants pour le faire, ou si la loi le permet. Vos renseignements personnels sur la santé seront maintenus dans un système électronique. Nous limitons la collecte d'informations à ce qui est nécessaire afin de fournir des soins pour vous et votre enfant.

Pourquoi les recueillons-nous ?

Nous utilisons et divulguons les renseignements personnels sur la santé aux fins suivantes:

  • Traiter et fournir des soins aux enfants et aux familles
  • Planifier, administrer et gérer nos opérations internes
  • Mener des activités de gestion des risques
  • Mener des activités d'amélioration de la qualité, telles que l'envoi de sondages de satisfaction
  • Enseigner
  • Effectuer des recherches
  • Compiler des statistiques
  • Collecter des fonds pour améliorer nos services et programmes de santé
  • Obtenir le paiement pour les traitements et les soins
  • Se conformer aux exigences légales et règlementaires
  • Atteindre d'autres fins autorisées ou requises par la loi

Ai-je seulement une chance de décider de donner mes renseignements et de choisir qui peut accéder à ceux-ci:

Les parents/tuteurs peuvent limiter l'accès, apporter des corrections aux dossiers de santé personnels de leurs enfants ou retirer leur consentement à une partie ou à l’entièreté des usages et des divulgations énumérés ci-dessus en communiquant avec nous. Les informations sur la façon d’apporter des changements seront fournies sur demande. Veuillez noter qu'il existe des exceptions légales. Quand vous vous présentez à votre rendez-vous initial, nous discuterons de l'échange d'informations avec d'autres programmes qui peuvent être bénéfiques pour vous et votre enfant, et vous serez invité à signer un consentement à ce moment-là. Si à tout moment pendant que vous remplissez notre formulaire de demande de consultation en ligne, vous devez arrêter de remplir le formulaire avant de le soumettre, assurez-vous de cliquer sur « Annuler » pour effacer toutes les informations que vous avez fournies.

Pour plus d'informations sur nos pratiques en matière de protection des renseignements personnels, ou pour nous signaler toute préoccupation relative à nos pratiques, veillez nous contacter :

Dorothy Harvey, responsable de la confidentialité 
 Directrice des services de réadaptation 
 Centre pour enfants de Niagara 
567, avenue Glenridge, St Catharines, Ontario L2T 4C2
(905) 688-1890, poste 200
privacy@niagarachildrenscentre.com (ne pas envoyer de renseignements personnels par courriel)

Si vous croyez que nous avons violé vos droits, vous avez le droit de contacter le Commissaire à l'information et à la protection de la vie privée / Ontario. Le commissaire peut être contacté à:

Commissaire à l'information et à la protection de la vie privée / Ontario 2, rue Bloor Est, bureau 1400 Toronto ON M4W 1A8 Téléphone (416) 326-3333 ou 1-800-387-3333 Télécopieur: (416) 325-9195

 

 




border